Skip to main content

Waterford FC fell to their first home defeat in almost two years after Limerick left the RSC with all three points on Friday night in the SSE Airtricity League Premier Division.

The Blues fell 3-0 behind and were down to 10 men before the half hour, and despite a fighting performance, Limerick left with a 6-3 win.

Kenny Browne and Faysel Kasmi came into the team following the 2-2 draw against Bray Wanderers on Monday.

But the Blues found themselves 2-0 behind in the opening quarter hour. Conor Clifford’s right-wing corner found Danny Morrissey and he headed into the far corner beyond Blues keeper Lawrence Vigouroux.

And within three minutes Limerick doubled their lead. Morrissey took advantage of a defensive mistake down the right side before firing low to shock the Blues crowd.

It got worse for the Blues with Stanley Aborah seeing red from referee Graham Kelly before Karl O’Sullivan made it 3-0 hammering home at the back post from Billy Dennehy’s left-wing cross.

Waterford did get back into the game before half time. Izzy Akinade struck the crossbar, before a minute later Rory Feely finished from Gavan Holohan’s left-wing corner kick.

And two minutes into the second half, Courtney Duffus gave the Blues a lifeline when he did well on the right-side of the penalty area before drilling the ball past Brendan Clarke from inside the penalty area.

But the goal that changed the game arrived with controversy just shy of the hour mark. Barry Maguire got space out on the right before Dylan Barnett did superbly well to get in a timely tackle. Barnett looked to be fouled but referee Graham Kelly played on as Mark O’Sullivan scored to make it 4-2.

Again the Blues looked to fight back as Courtney Duffus fired home again with ten minutes remaining to gives the Blues another lifeline, but further goals from Barry Maguire before a Billy Dennehy penalty ended the content as Limerick took advantage of the Blues’ search for a levelled.

Waterford FC: Lawrence Vigouroux, Rory Feely, Kenny Browne, David Webster, Dylan Barnett, Bastien Hery, Stanley Aborah, Faysel Kasmi (Paul Keegan 46), Gavan Holohan, Izzy Akinade, Courtney Duffus.

Limerick FC: Brendan Clarke, Kilian Cantwell, Eoin Wearen, Killian Brouder (Shaun Kelly 39), Billy Dennehy, Conor Clifford, Cian Coleman, Daniel Kearns (William Fitzgerald 77), Karl O’Sullivan, Barry Maguire, Danny Morrissey (Mark O’Sullivan 46).

Referee: Graham Kelly (Cork)


Leave a Reply