Skip to main content

Waterford FC widened the gap to 4th place with a brilliant 2-1 win away to Derry City on Friday night.

Dessie Hutchinson and Gavan Holohan struck to give Alan Reynolds side a deserved win.

The Blues started well and were in front early. Holohan started the move the yielded the breakthrough goal; he played the ball into the feet of Dessie Hutchinson, who’s one-two with Noel Hunt allowed the midfielder to fire left-footed past Gerard Doherty from 10 yards.

Sander Puri came close to doubling the lead midway through the first half but his shot was tipped over. Izzy Akinade failed to hit the target with a header from the resulting Garry Comerford corner.

But Derry City levelled on 31 minutes. Rory Hale crossed into the area but Blues defender Rory Feely could only clear the ball into the path of Dean Shiels and he equalied.

The Blues went back in front before the half-time whistle.The exceptional Bastien Héry found the the run of Gavan Holohan and his deflected left-footed strike flew over keeper Gerard Doherty.

Noel Hunt went close but he couldn’t beat Ger Doherty, before Akinade fired across goal minutes later.

Derry almost fired a late equalising goal in the final minutes when Ally Roy saw his effort come crashing back off the crossbar and to safety.

The final whistle from referee Paul McLaughlin brought great celebrations from the Waterford players and fans alike as it was a fantastic three points to win on a long road trip that didn’t go to well earlier in the season.

Derry City: Gerard Doherty, Dan Seaborne, Aaron McEneff, Aaron Splaine (Ben Fisk 70), Rory Hale, Ally Roy, Gavin Peers (Jamie McDonagh 87), Darren Cole, Dean Shiels, Kevin McHattie, Ronan Hale

Waterford FC: Matthew Connor, Rory Feely, Kenny Browne, David Webster, Garry Comerford, Bastien Héry, Dessie Hutchinson (Paul Keegan 85), Sander Puri, Gavan Holohan, Izzy Akinade (Dean O’Halloran 76), Noel Hunt

Referee: Paul McLaughlin

Leave a Reply