Skip to main content

A 92nd minute goal saw Waterford FC fall to a narrow 2-1 defeat at home to Shamrock Rovers at the RSC.

Kevin Lynch had given the Blues the lead but second-half goals from Aaron Greene and Ethan Boyle saw the visitors take the points.

Shamrock Rovers looked to attack first but Brandon Kavanagh’s free kick was well palmed away by Blues keeper Matthew Connor. The follow-up corner was cleared from danger.


At the other end, attacker Zack Elbouzedi found Shane Duggan outside the penalty area but the midfielder shot wide of Alan Mannus’ goal.

After soaking up the visitor’s pressure, it was the Blues who took the lead in spectacular fashion. Shane Duggan was fouled 25 yards from goal and Kevin Lynch brilliantly curled left-footed into the top corner to make it 1-0.

Blues keeper Connor saved from Dylan Watts before Jack Byrne’s strike dipped over the crossbar.The Blues had big shouts for a penalty as Aaron Drinan was pulled down in the penalty area but referee Graham Kelly waved play on.

As half-time approached, both sides went close. First, Dan Carr had a great chance to level the game but his effort was cleared off the line by Kevin Lynch, before Izzy Akinade struck the post at the other end with Mannus scrambling.

Ronan Finn threatened first in the second half when found by Dan Carr but Finn’s strike rolled wide of Connor’s post.

The equaliser that Rovers’ pressure looked for arrived 10 minutes into the second half. Dan Carr squaring for Aaron Greene to fire the equaliser.

Matthew Connor saved well from Greene as Rovers pushed, while at the other end Izzy Akinade couldn’t get on the end of Rory Feely’s excellent driven cross.

But it ended in heartbreak for the Blues fans inside a packed RSC as Shamrock Rovers snatched a late winner; Ethan Boyle getting on the end of Trevor Clarke’s corner kick in the 92nd minute to snatch the points.

Waterford FC: Matthew Connor, Rory Feely, Kenny Browne, Damien Delaney, Kevin Lynch, Zack Elbouzedi, Bastien Héry, Shane Duggan, John Martin (Maxim Kouogun 77), Aaron Drinan, Izzy Akinade

Shamrock Rovers: Alan Mannus, Ethan Boyle, Roberto Lopes, Lee Grace, Dylan Watts (Greg Bolger 68), Ronan Finn, Dan Carr, Aaron McEneff, Sean Kavanagh (Trevor Clarke 75), Aaron Greene (Orhan Vojic 75), Jack Byrne

Referee: Graham Kelly

Leave a Reply