Skip to main content

The points were shared on the RSC on Friday night as Waterford FC and Sligo Rovers played out a 3-3 draw.

Alan Reynolds’ side had big shouts for a penalty turned down on 18 minutes when Izzy Akinade was taken down by John Dunleavy but referee Anthony Buttimer waved play on.

Straight down the other end and Sligo took the lead. David Cawley did well to find the cross for Kris Twardek and he bundled the ball past Waterford keeper Matthew Connor.

But the Blues hit back two minutes later; Cory Galvin driving from midfield and firing low into the bottom corner from 25 yards to level.

And Waterford FC then took the lead. Zack Elbouzedi crossed at the second attempt from the left for Shane Duggan to shoot at goal. His shot hit the crossbar before striking the back of keeper Mitchell Beeney and finding the net.

The goals continued as Sligo Rovers levelled 11 minutes into the second half. Substitute Ronan Murray provided the cross from the left and Ronan Coughlan arrived to head the equaliser from inside the penalty area.

The football was flowing and Sligo Rovers hit the lead on 64 minutes. Romeo Parkes drove forward after David Cawley’s through ball before firing beyond Waterford keeper Connor.

The Blues then missed a golden opportunity to level; keeper Beeney fouling Akinade as he ran through in the penalty area but Shane Duggan’s spot kick was well saved by the keeper.

But Waterford FC weren’t to be denied with 10 minutes to go; Izzy Akinade beating a retreating defence to Georgie Poynton’s throw in before lobbing Beeney to level at 3-3.

Sligo could have grabbed all three points with six minutes left. Referee Buttimer awarded another penalty after Georgie Poynton’s handball, but Waterford keeper Matthew Connor made an excellent low save to deny Ronan Coughlan from the penalty spot as the game ended 3-3.

Waterford FC: Matthew Connor, Aaron Simpson (Bastien Héry 66), Rory Feely, Damien Delaney, Georgie Poynton, JJ Lunney, Shane Duggan, Zack Elbouzedi (Karolis Chvedukas 66), Cory Galvin (Scott Twine 77), Izzy Akinade, Aaron Drinan

Sligo Rovers: Mitchell Beeney, Lewis Banks, Regan Donelon, John Dunleavy, Ronan Coughlan, Daryl Fordyce (Niall Morahan 90), Kris Twardek (Sam Warde 46), Jack Keaney (Ronan Murray 46), David Cawley, Romeo Parkes, Dante Leverock

Referee: Anthony Buttimer (Cork)

Leave a Reply