Skip to main content

Waterford FC made a return to winning ways after a deserved 1-0 win at home to UCD at the RSC.

UCD started brightly and had the first chance as Neil Farrugia got down the left but his strike was straight at keeper Matthew Connor after 12 minutes.

Bastien Hery had Waterford FC’s first chance on 28 minutes but UCD defender Josh Collins made an important block.

Hery fired wide minutes later before Collins had to block again block; Aaron Drinan finding Cory Galvin but the defender made the block.

Alan Reynolds’ side took the lead after 36 minutes. Rory Feely made progress down the right before slipping the ball inside to Cory Galvin. The attacker’s strike was blocked but the ball dropped to Zack Elbouzedi and he fired left-footed into the bottom corner of the UCD goal.

JJ Lunney went close to doubling the lead in first-half stoppage time when Bastien Hery pulled the ball back into his path but his right-footed effort was just over the crossbar from inside the penalty area.

Waterford FC that almost doubled the lead in the second half. Aaron Drinan found the run of Elbouzedi and his curling strike forced keeper Kearns into an excellent stop.

UCD pressed and after Liam Scales got on the end of an overhit corner kick and fed Neil Farrugia, keeper Connor had to be alert to save.

UCD had an even better chance with 13 minutes left; Richie O’Farrell kept the ball alive on the endline before pulling it back for Conor Davis but the striker couldn’t beat Matthew Connor.

The Blues could have sealed the points in stoppage time; Akinade first forced Kearns into a good save before two minutes later he almost set up the run of Hery but again Kearns was on hand; the Blues hanging on to their 1-0 advantage and picking up the three points.

Waterford FC: Matthew Connor, Rory Feely, Maxim Kouogun, Damien Delaney, Georgie Poynton, Bastien Hery, JJ Lunney, Karolis Chvedukas (Shane Griffin 89), Cory Galvin (Izzy Akinade 67), Aaron Drinan, Zack Elbouzedi (Scott Twine 84).

UCD: Conor Kearns, Liam Scales, Josh Collins, Neil Farrugia, Gary O’Neill, Jason McClelland (Dara Keane 87), Richie O’Farrell, Sean McDonald, Conor Davis (Yoyo Mahdy 78),  Paul Doyle (Danu Bishop 87), Evan Farrell.

Referee: Robert Hennessey

Leave a Reply