Skip to main content

Waterford FC were crowned Under-17 Mark Farren Cup winners on Saturday afternoon after a 4-2 win over Sligo Rovers at the RSC after a tightly-contested final.


The game was only ten seconds old as Sligo Rovers opened the scoring when Mark Byrne played the ball forward that wasn’t dealt with by the home defence and Liam Kerrigan took full advantage to fire a right-footed shot past keeper Charlie Heffernan.

Waterford levelled the tie on 24 minutes when Adam Conway went on a brilliant run down the left channel before playing the ball perfectly into the path of Jack Larkin, who brilliantly curled a left-footed shot beyond the reach of Sligo keeper Luke McNicholas.

And The Blues got in front shortly afterwards; Darragh Power got free down the right before putting the ball into the area and Colm Whelan got to the ball before the keeper to find the net for the 15th game in a row.

Whelan was denied his second goal of the game on 38 minutes when his shot was saved by keeper McNicholas before the same player was also just off target as he tried to get a third goal before the break that would have really put his side in the driving seat.

Sligo Rovers went close to levelling the tie on 38 minutes when Liam Kerrigan’s free kick came crashing back off the right-hand post.

The visitors did get back on level terms on 53 minutes when Aaron Perry got free out on the left side and after his shot wasn’t held by keeper Charlie Heffernan, Cian McAllister tapped into an empty net.

With the game in the melting pot, the Blues got their noses back in front on 75 minutes when Ciaran Brennan slipped the ball into the path of Regix Madika and he slotted a left-footed shot under the legs of keeper Luke McNicholas from the tight angle.

As time ticked down in the final minute, the hosts got a fourth goal that ensured the cup final triumph when Oisin Knox got space out on the right before crossing for Mike Nzongong and he powered an unstoppable header past Luke McNicholas from close range. 

Waterford FC: Charlie Heffernan, Kallum Broaders, Lee Costello (Regix Madika 61), Adam Conway (Torik Adegoke 79), Darryl Walsh, Dean Beresford (Jack O’Donnell 75), Darragh Power, Jack Larkin, Ciaran Brennan (Oisin Knox 76), Colm Whelan (Mike Nzongong 87), Greg Waters

Sligo Rovers: Luke McNicholas, Ryan Smith, Liam Whyte (Adam Lynch 55), Gearoid Mulligan (Seamus Keogh 46), Niall Morahan, Dillion Munnelly (Scott Lynch 83), Cian McAllister (James McGrath 66), Mark Byrne, Darren Collins (Luke O’Reilly 87), Liam Kerrigan, Aaron Perry

Referee: Pat O’Connor

Leave a Reply